Possession of a firearm has been considered as the severe crime in Virginia because it can result in a problem. The persons possessing a firearm are likely to make crime and threat any innocent persons within Virginia. This is the main reason for which the penalties for possession of a firearm in Virginia have been designed. There are different codes of laws, which carry different penalties and punishments for offenders depending on the nature of firearm. In the same way, the penalties and punishments vary with respect to the number of times you have been observed with a firearm in Virginia. State Code 18.2-308.2 of Virginia applies to the offenders if they possess concealed weapons in addition to stun weapons and explosives. This code enforces a minimum and mandatory prison time at the discretion of the court.
Meanwhile, penalties for possession of a firearm in Virginia has a close relationship with the number of times the offender has been found with firearms. For example, an offender found with the concealed firearms for the first time would be required to pay up to $2,500. In the same way, he would be required to be imprisoned up to 1 year. However, as the number of times of possession of firearms increase, the penalties also increase. Furthermore, if you have been observed for the second time with a firearm, the penalties will be different. In such case, you would be required to be imprisoned up to five years, which means that you will have to be in jail more than one year.
Consequently, possession of a firearm by a felon in Virginia is penalized with an obligatory and consecutive sentence of 2 years in prison, if he did not convict any violent crime within the past 10 years. It is an exception for you, and you have right to avail if you have not convicted any crime by firearm in the past 10 years. Penalties for possession of a firearm in Virginia can negatively impact your status in the society. It can result in a financial loss because you may be required to pay large fines. However, there are some exceptions, which can help you save your money. For example, if you served at least two years in the armed forces and obtained an honorable discharge, then the penalties for possession of a firearm in Virginia can decrease.
Likewise, possession of stun weapons is allowed to felons in their homes or outside and near to their homes. These are the exceptions, the lack of awareness of which can create multiple challenges for you. We would like to suggest you hire an experienced law attorney, who will be working on behalf of your case. The attorney will prepare a strong case so that could be provided a favor in the court. The penalties for possession of a firearm in Virginia increase if you were convicted a violent behavior in the past 10 years. However, it depends on the proof of such felony activity and the absence of proof about your violent behavior in the past 10 years can help you to avoid such large penalties. To avail our services, and prepare a strong and successive case, you can hire our services.